Hiroshima and Nagasaki

If you have any sort of general knowledge then you would have understood by the topic of the title what I am gonna talk about. This will be more of a compilation post than a writing. A few days back few of us were discussing that Roosevelt should also be give a place alongside Hitler in the Hall of Fame of Villians for the act of dropping atom bomb on the Japanese Cities. There can be numerous explanations given in the tone of that ” Everything is fair in war” and “He had to win the war to establish democracy and defeat fascism” but i wont ever be satisfied by it. So here are a few images and a few other data and quotes i got from my limited googling about it… which was limited to opening wiki page.. Wikipedia rocks by the way…

Following is a quote from a joint letter by Albert Einstein and Leo Szilard who were closely associated with atom bomb program

“Let me say only this much to the moral issue involved: Suppose Germany had developed two bombs before we had any bombs. And suppose Germany had dropped one bomb, say, on Rochester and the other on Buffalo, and then having run out of bombs she would have lost the war. Can anyone doubt that we would then have defined the dropping of atomic bombs on cities as a war crime, and that we would have sentenced the Germans who were guilty of this crime to death at Nuremberg and hanged them?”

Now some statistics…

At Hiroshima:

70 k people died due to immediate effect

deaths by end of 1945 range from 90,000 to 140,000, due to burns, radiation, and subsequent disease, aggravated by lack of medical resources

Some estimates state up to 200,000 may have died by 1950, due to cancer and other long-term effects

Nagasaki:

Immediate Deaths : 40k-75k and other data is almost similar but a bit less coz of the geography of Nagaski which allowed the radiations to escape.

Now few images

The energy released by the bomb was powerful enough to burn through clothing. The dark portions of the garments this victim wore at the time of the blast were emblazoned on to the flesh as scars, while skin underneath the lighter parts (which absorb less energy) was not damaged as badly

Dress

View of Nagasaki before and after the attack

nagasakib4naftr

The Nagasaki bomb cloud rose to 18km into the sky…

bombcloud
Many people were so unlucky that they survived Hiroshima and fled to nagasaki to again experience the same pain
The bombing on Nagasaki was not the end.. Even after this 7 more bombs were waiting in the pipeline to be dropped

The United States expected to have another atomic bomb ready for use in the third week of August, with three more in September and a further three in October”

I read a very touching poem by Vikram Seth in class X about Nuclear Holocaust but i can neither remember the title nor find the poem on net otherwise i would have posted.. If you have any idea about the poem then please tell me.

Song Of the Day:- I kept on Loving you by Carpenters

PS1:- Feeling very sleepy…zzzz…..

PS2:- Went to Pizza hut today for Ramzan offer

PS3:- Tom almost a holiday for me… No compilers class.. POPL class is as good as nothing

PS4:-

Edit:- You can see how sleepy I was… I wrote “PS4:-” and then nothing and even in tags fiel, i have written “r” which i even dont remember writing… And i dont remember anything after pressing the publish button…. I just fell on the bed and dozed off.. :P and wherever i have made things in bold.. was also done today…

EDIT2:-Waise i dont know what i intend to do by this post.. You easily read all this on wikipedia.. but i couldnt resist myself writing about this after reading abt it… Actually i was writing a post about Roosevelt being a villian and never been said so…. while Hitler being made the worst surname in History… :( If Hitler gets 10/10 on scale of villiany then Roosevelt should also get atleast 7/10 on the same scale… But what can we do.. History is always written by the Winners,for the Winners glorifying the winners…

EDIT3:-  These are few lines of the poem… Will try to find complete poem some other time

I saw the shadowy forms of people,
some were ghosts, some scarecrows, all were wordless, dumb–
Arms stretched straight out, shoulder to dangling hand;
It took some time for me to understand
The friction on their burns caused so much pain
They feared to chafe flesh against flesh again.
Those who could, shuffled in a blank parade
Towards the hospital.

19 thoughts on “Hiroshima and Nagasaki

  1. Most of the pics r frm Wiki!
    Neways, Roosevelt was never such a big villian, ‘cos he was not the one who started the violence. Violence as a tool against non-violence is just not acceptable.

  2. The poem was part of our ICSE 10th English curriculum and I remember it really well coz of how important it was from the ‘exam point of view’.Japan is a small country and yet its resilience to come back from this horrifying tragedy is a lesson for all countries.Keep blogging!!

  3. @ Chand: tu bol ya mat bol, it doesn’t matter … main to bolunga hi.

    @Himank: nice work. This gives atleast some idea of the havoc created by the bombs. But yes, this ended the war 2 years before it would have actually ended without the use of these bombs [ maybe, this is the same i..e. winner’s point of view] … I donno how to count the number of casualties which would have happened both sides because of that extension of war ……. But still, I agree that Roosevelt should be seen standing next to the Hitler in queue of villains of history …. but this doesn’t strengthen the point that Hitler wasn’t bad …. today, he is being given wahtever he deserves … no sympathies with him as far as humanity is concerned … but I consider him the greatest nationalist ever in the whole history.

  4. @Manish Rooselvelt standing next to Hitler in the list of villians makes no sense. Hitler’s ‘violent’ reaction was totally unjustified. While this does not justify Roosevelt’s actions, it was a case of violence begot ting violence. It was Hitler who started the entire chain of events.

  5. @ Prateek : :)

    @ Namrata: Seriously ICSE english rox… I think i didnt study the poem that seriously for exam point of view… but liked it as such… Yup Japan is a vry good example to emulate.. They were also in ruins after the war but look how they picked up..

    @ Chand: Koi nahin sharma mat.. bol de…

    @ Manish: Nobody can ever deny the fact that Hitler was a bad guy and i am not even trying it… And ya completely agree about him being a great Nationalist.. though wouldnt say greatest.. How many ppl you know.. that you are making such a statement..

    @ Bhanu: Change is the law of nature my dear… Btw if u havent read.. i also wrote a post about Hitler sum time back..http://lifeizlikethat.wordpress.com/2006/10/16/the-villian-whom-i-respect/
    read this…

    @ Maroo: Reply to ur comment is due… Not in a mood to write a long one jus now..

  6. The poem is “A DOCTOR’S JOURNAL ENTRY” by Vikram Seth ……it tells about how a doctor experiences the blast with all the world in front of him collapsing in timber and debris………the poem is just fantabulous n really heart touching……..I like one beautiful line in the poem….in such a drastic condition he stumbles upon a head of a person n he utters “pls excuse me” and laters he finds the person was dead

  7. A DOCTOR’S JOURNAL ENTRY

    For August 6, 1945

    by Vikram Seth

    The morning starched calm, beautiful and warm
    Sprawling half-clad, I gazed out at the form
    Of shimmering leaves and shadows. Suddenly
    A strong flash, then another, startled me.

    I saw the old stone lantern brightly lit.
    Magnesium flares? While I debated it,
    The roof, the walls and, as it seemed, the world
    Collapsed under timber and debris, dust swirled
    Around me- in the garden now – and weird

    My drawers and undershirt disappeared.
    A splinter jutted from my mangled thigh
    My right side bled, my cheek was torn, and I
    Dislodged detachedly a piece of glass,
    All time wondering what had come to pass

    Where was my life? Alarmed, I gave a shout,
    ‘Where are you, Yecko-san?’ My blood gushed
    out.
    The artery in my neck? Scared for my life.
    I called out, panic-stricken, to my wife.
    Pale, bloodstained, frightened, Yecko-san
    Emerged,
    Holding her elbow, ‘we’ll be fine’, I urged-
    ‘Lets get out quickly. Stumbling to the street
    We fell, tripped up by something at our feet.

    I gasped out; when I saw it was a head
    ‘Excuse me, please excuse me’ – He was dead
    A gate had crushed him. There we stood, afraid.
    A house standing before us tilted, swayed,
    Toppled, and crashed. Fire sprang up in dust,
    Spread by the wind. It dawned on us we must
    Get to the hospital: we needed aid –
    And I should help my staff too. (Though this made
    Sense to me then, I wonder how could
    Have hoped, hurt as I was, to do much good.)

    My legs gave way. I sat on the ground
    Thirst seized me but no water could be found.
    My breath was short , but bit by bit my strength
    Seemed to revive, and I got up at length.
    I was still naked but felt no shame
    This thought disturbed me somewhat, till I came
    Upon a soldier, standing silently,
    Who gave the towel round his neck to me
    My legs stiff with dried blood rebelled. I said
    To Yecko-san she must go on ahead.
    She did not wish to, but in our distress
    What choice had we? A dreadful loneliness
    Came over me when she had gone. My mind
    Ran at high speed but my body crept behind.

    I saw the shadowy forms of people, some
    Were ghosts some scarecrows, all were
    Wordless, dumb-
    Arms starched straight out, shoulder to
    Dangling hand,
    It took some time for me to understand
    The friction on their burns caused so much pain
    They feared to chafe flesh against flesh again.
    Those
    Who could, shuffled in a blank parade
    Towards the hospital. I saw, dismayed,
    A woman with a child stand in my path-
    Both naked. Had they come back from the bath?
    I turned my gaze, but I was at a loss
    That she should stand thus, till I came across
    A naked man- and now the thought arose
    That some strange thing had stripped us of
    our clothes.
    The face of an old woman on the ground
    Was marred with suffering, but she made
    no sound.
    Silence was common to us all. I heard
    No cries of anguish, or a single word.

  8. A DOCTOR’S JOURNAL ENTRY

    For August 6, 1945

    by Vikram Seth

    The morning starched calm, beautiful and warm
    Sprawling half-clad, I gazed out at the form
    Of shimmering leaves and shadows. Suddenly
    A strong flash, then another, startled me.

    I saw the old stone lantern brightly lit.
    Magnesium flares? While I debated it,
    The roof, the walls and, as it seemed, the world
    Collapsed under timber and debris, dust swirled
    Around me- in the garden now – and weird

    My drawers and undershirt disappeared.
    A splinter jutted from my mangled thigh
    My right side bled, my cheek was torn, and I
    Dislodged detachedly a piece of glass,
    All time wondering what had come to pass

    Where was my wife? Alarmed, I gave a shout,
    ‘Where are you, Yecko-san?’ My blood gushed
    out.
    The artery in my neck? Scared for my life.
    I called out, panic-stricken, to my wife.
    Pale, bloodstained, frightened, Yecko-san
    Emerged,
    Holding her elbow, ‘we’ll be fine’, I urged-
    ‘Lets get out quickly. Stumbling to the street
    We fell, tripped up by something at our feet.

    I gasped out; when I saw it was a head
    ‘Excuse me, please excuse me’ – He was dead
    A gate had crushed him. There we stood, afraid.
    A house standing before us tilted, swayed,
    Toppled, and crashed. Fire sprang up in dust,
    Spread by the wind. It dawned on us we must
    Get to the hospital: we needed aid –
    And I should help my staff too. (Though this made
    Sense to me then, I wonder how could
    Have hoped, hurt as I was, to do much good.)

    My legs gave way. I sat on the ground
    Thirst seized me but no water could be found.
    My breath was short , but bit by bit my strength
    Seemed to revive, and I got up at length.
    I was still naked but felt no shame
    This thought disturbed me somewhat, till I came
    Upon a soldier, standing silently,
    Who gave the towel round his neck to me
    My legs stiff with dried blood rebelled. I said
    To Yecko-san she must go on ahead.
    She did not wish to, but in our distress
    What choice had we? A dreadful loneliness
    Came over me when she had gone. My mind
    Ran at high speed but my body crept behind.

    I saw the shadowy forms of people, some
    Were ghosts some scarecrows, all were
    Wordless, dumb-
    Arms starched straight out, shoulder to
    Dangling hand,
    It took some time for me to understand
    The friction on their burns caused so much pain
    They feared to chafe flesh against flesh again.
    Those
    Who could, shuffled in a blank parade
    Towards the hospital. I saw, dismayed,
    A woman with a child stand in my path-
    Both naked. Had they come back from the bath?
    I turned my gaze, but I was at a loss
    That she should stand thus, till I came across
    A naked man- and now the thought arose
    That some strange thing had stripped us of
    our clothes.
    The face of an old woman on the ground
    Was marred with suffering, but she made
    no sound.
    Silence was common to us all. I heard
    No cries of anguish, or a single word.

Leave a Reply

