Few Unforgettable Hours

I am gonna write about the unforgettable moments i had on the 20th of January. Well, i had to catch the train to Hyderabad(or better say Sec’bad ) from New Delhi Station so i decided that i could catch up with my cousin sister who lives in Gurgaon. who got married in Dec 2006 and whose marriage i couldn’t attend so to accomplish this feat i reached Delhi on 20th morning and reached my sister’s place in the morning had lots of fun talked to her after 2 long years and it was so fun. Then my jijaji (brother – in -law ) said that we should go out on a drive and we took off and went to a McD and ate there and at 3o’clock we decided that it was time for us to leave otherwise there might be chances of me missing the train. So we left the McD at 3:00 hoping to reach my cousin’s home by 3:30 then i could leave but fate had something different in store for me. There were two big traffic jam in the way back so the journey which would have taken 20-25 mins took us about 1hr 10 mins so i was there standing at the door of the house waiting to go the bus stop but my sister wouldn’t let me go without me eating something so i was forced to drink a cold drink and eat some biscuits. So i gulped all of them the fastest i could do and left for the bus stop from where i could take a bus for Dhaulkuan in Delhi state whereas Gurgaon is in Haryana. The auto which i took could have given a 60 year old man riding a cycle a run for his money…it was so damn bloody slow that i couldn’t do anything but sit there in the auto and keep cursing the guy and his auto…

Somehow i reached the Bus stop and luckily a bus came in something like 5 mins and i thankfully alighted the bus and the bus started on in the pace usual for a bus but after some 15-20 mins the bus stopped all of a sudden and to my shock i discovered that the bus has broken down and now we will have to wait for some other bus to come and then get onto it and then continue our journey so not in a situation to do anything i just stood there and waited for the bus..Somebody may argue that i might have taken an auto but the problem is that the autos dont go from one state to other so i had just only one means of conveyance and that was the apni sasti, sundar(???) and tikau(not in this situation) bus. So i kept on waiting for the bus and waiting, then another bus came and i got into it. When it started moving i thought that “Dhaulkuan” must not be far from here and thought that i will reach there in about 20 mins, time being 4:25 i thought i will reach there by 4:45 and then some 25-30 mins to New Delhi station and will be there comfortably but the time kept on passing and when at 4:40 i asked someone how much time the bus will take…i was told 20 more mins. I was happy that i will take an auto from Dhaulakuan and reach station in time.The clock struck 5 and still the bus was moving at its usual pace . I was told by a person standing beside me that we will surely reach Dhaulakuan in 10 mins.At that moment i started getting tensed and started biting my nails (though i always do it but that biting was different from usual biting). I was still hopeful that i would be able to make it to the station if i take an auto. But then the time kept passing and it was 5:10 and still we were traveling . This time i talked to the conductor hoping to receive an answer that we are just there but instead i get a blunt ” abhi 10 min aur lagenge ab hato humein apna kam karne do”… Now it was time to panic…i was terribly afraid at that point of time couldn’t think of anything slowly slowly i started feeling my heart beat grow faster and was feeling i was going to faint or something. I started praying to God asking the almighty what wrong have i done to deserve such a harsh punishment and started reciting Gayatri Mantra(in my mind) with my hands folded in front of all the people. I was dripping with sweat in spite of the cold weather in Delhi… everything was starting to become so fearful. i was not concerned much about myself at that point of time but main point was that i had the tickets of the 3 of us Me,Pk and Shikha and i was cursing myself for getting them into trouble along with me. All of a sudden the bus stopped and when i looked through a window, it was a traffic light and there was a very long line of vehicles, at that point of time tears had almost come into my eyes but i decided that its enough with the bus now i should take an auto coz by now we should surely be in Delhi state when i got down from the bus time was 5:15 by my watch

So i got off from the bus and stopped an auto wallah and told him to take me to New Delhi railway station. Sensing the tension and the urgency in my voice, he asked me what was the matter , i told him my situation i was in. HE told me not to worry and told me that he will take me if there is no traffic jam but he will charge more if he drives fast. I told him i will pay you as much as you want just take me there in time. I should really thank that guy for he drove the auto like i have never seen an auto wallah drive in my life. He was also cursing the people who tried to cross the road in front of the auto and would just burst into a stream of expletives at every red light we encountered. He was driving faster than the cars around us and overtaking all of them. Finally we reached NDLS at 5:40 pm but there was another hurdle in my way which was to be cleared in 5 minutes and i had to reach the train too.

Final hurdle in my way was that my suitcase was deposited in locker room and i had to go there and take it. Running with a bag on my shoulders i started to check my purse for the slip which had to be returned to take my suitcase from there but i just couldn’t find it in the heat of the moment i just overlooked it in my purse, when i reached there, i told them my problem and asked them to give me my baggage i told them you can see my ticket and match the ticket number on it but they wouldnt just listen to me and asked me to go out of the station and bring some bond paper and only then they would give me the suitcase, i begged in front of them asking them to give me my suitcase but when they refused i left my bag in the locker room unguarded which also contained my laptop and started to run out of the station, i tried to collect myself and again looked into my purse and finally found the receipt and then heaved a sigh and ran back to the locker room showed them the receipt and took the suitcase now i had to go to platform no 5 while i was standing at platform no. 1 I decided that it wasn’t time for me to go the over bridge go up travel the distance and then again go down

So i decided that i will cross through the rails and threw my suitcase down and jumped down into the rails crossed two tracks reached platform no 2 and then i climbed up to the platform in the grossest manner in which i could have done and then went down again and then there was a train standing on the platform(it was actually standing on the middle track of the three between those 2 platforms if i remember right) i climbed up the stairs into the coach, a man was standing there pushed him aside and then descended down the stairs and could see a train standing on platform no.5 with my full force overcame another obstacle and reached the platform, since the train was standing i had time to find my coach S-11 and then got into it and saw the face of shikha and at that time for the first time in the last 2 hours i relaxed myself a bit put my luggage on the seat and just sat on the seat unable to speak anything just calmed my body for some seconds.

Since the post has grown too long…no conclusion and only one PS
PS1 :- Longest post of mine till date
PS2:- After my longest comment this in my longest post both on the same day

9 thoughts on “Few Unforgettable Hours

  1. abe i faced almost da same situation,my bus left me at anand vihar instead of ISBT at 5pm,again it was d autowallah who came as sankatmochan to help me to reach NDLS on time,makin way thru d traffic-loadened roads.

  2. hehe.. i think u ppl have never seen banglorian traffic.. rather I’d say that Delhi’s traffic is one of the best in the country..
    ohh god .. donno for how much yrs i’ve to live here ..traffic really sux at blore.

  3. didn’t have patience to read the post till the end..
    neways I know the story.
    never went to banglore …
    but Delhi traffic sucks big time.
    I agree wid maruti…

    adeus….

  4. @ Maruti :I dont think ki main wrld recrd bana sakta hun and ya u wud hav loved to see me in that condition all sweaty and heart beating like someone firing a gun
    @ karan: Ya i guess…
    @ Yogesh: Auto wallah was the knight in shining armour for u..ain’t it????
    @iGlue: Nevr been to b’lore but out of all the cities i have visited Delhi has the worst traffic
    @ Prateek : Hyd traffic surely ROCKS
    @ Chand: CAn’t agree more
    @ Pankaj: Ya that was an adventure but i am sure that nobidy wud like to have that adventure and specially not me…never

Leave a Reply

