Over the Rainbow

This song was first sung by Judy Garland in the movie, Wizard of Oz, and since then it has acquired cult status, being rated by AFI as #1 in the list of top movie songs. I have been hearing the Israel Kamakawiwo’ole version of this song for long but since hearing the Judy Garland version in the movie, have just fallen more in love with this song.
One more interesting thing is, in the last 2 days I have seen two movies in which the song is featured, one was obviously “Wizard of Oz” and other was “The Philadelphia Story” starring James Stewart, Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn.
Here are the lyrics of the Judy Garland version

Somewhere, over the rainbow
Way up high
There’s a land that I heard of
Once in a lullaby

Somewhere, over the rainbow
Skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Really do come true

Some day I’ll wish upon a star and wake up where the clouds are
far behind me
Where troubles melt like lemon drops away above the chimney tops
That’s where you’ll find me

Somewhere, over the rainbow
Blue birds fly
Birds fly over the rainbow
Why then, oh, why can’t I?
If happy little bluebirds fly
Beyond the rainbow

Just one request to the readers of this blog… If by any chance you have the Judy Garland version of this song then can you please mail it to me at himanksharma[at]gmail[dot]com. Its quite a pain in ass, going back and playing again in the movie.. I will be indebted to you.
And I request you all to atleast once listen to the song, if Judy Garland version you can find then its good or else the Israel Kamakawiwo’ole is also pretty awesome!!

Song of the Day :- Over the Rainbow by Judy Garland (needed I say more)

PS1:- The sole reason of writing this post was cause I am smitten by the song and couldn’t stay without writing : )
PS2:- Mausam is pretty fine today!! : )
PS3:- Was about to write a post on my first two weeks in MS.. but laziness overcame as it would have had too much writing and this one just had copying and pasting the lyrics and some commentary!!
PS4:- Now waiting for the next Monday to get my stipend!! 😀

System Time of Posting :- 4:48 PM 5/25/2008

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Over the Rainbow

  1. It is indeed a pretty amazing song! I loved it ever since i first heard it. Seems its used in a number of movies, “You’ve got Mail” being one of them.

Leave a Reply

