U.P. ka wasi!

I have lived a year in Kota, the supposed melange of indian students aspiring for the richness of Great Engineering colleges of India, which has been followed by almost 5.5 years in the city of Hyderabad, first studying in a national college which has people from all corners of India. Infact out of my closest friends, there hardly are any people from my native state, UP. I have had roomies from Delhi, Goa, project partners from Rajasthan, AP, some very good friends from all parts of India viz MP, Bengal, Orissa. After coming to office, I’ve had a boss who’s from Tamil Nadu, some close friends from the same state and a real good friend from the place which has eastern most railway station and airport of India(read the state of Assam). I’ve had a real close friend from Bengal and have always drooled at the high non veg diet they have.

Without sounding judgemental or anything and even though I have enjoyed the company of people from all corners of India, I have always mantained the fact that its the hindi speaking people which I’d prefer moree coz its your native language in which you are always more comfortable and can forge great relationships, instead of just good friendships and once this condition had been fulfilled,I have always been of an opinion that not only a person from the Hindi belt (viz M.P., Rajasthan, Bihar and likes) but even people from other parts of India who can speak decent Hindi (i.e. with an ability to distinguish between the genders of things and able to speak with no accent) should able to fulfill all requirements for a good relation.

I was fully assured of the fact that “Home is where the heart lies” adage doesnt really apply that well to me, and I am a real nationalist in every sense of word who can find his heart in each and every corner of India. And yet, so many years after being away from my home land, there is always a sense of belonging which can only come with a certain place which has the same culture as you. Make no mistake, I love Hyderabad, and would definitely live here instead of even the bigger cities of UP like Meerut (Lucknow being the only “worthy of living city” in the state). And even the prospect of going back and living in a city of my home state can be daunting for me, who is used to living here.

Still, at times, the ears yearn for the pronounciation of the word Bhokal from some mouth, and yet at other times when you in anger feel like threatening a person with a kantaap, only to realise he wont even know what this is supposed to mean. And although I have always enjoyed doing BC with my friends all this time, but at times I wish to do tafri ekdum UP style. I havnt, to date been able to find a person not hailing from UP who understands what’s a tahri and whats the diff between Pulao and Tahri, while its such a common place usage in UP, thats it was rather a shock for me, when I came to know, people dont even know of the existence of such a thing. And at times, the feeling I get when talking to my friends from the state, one who can understand and really appreciate the meaning of the term “Gulabi Sardi” is just beyond measures of happiness.

In the end I guess, one thing is for sure, I would really like to have my life partner from my home state (though will be desperately seeking for a non-veg one) because after all
“Home is where the heart lies!”

PS1: I have intentionally not mentioned my flatmate, who is from U.P., no need reminding me🙂
PS2: And specially this season, I am also missing UP ki sardi😐

19 thoughts on “U.P. ka wasi!

  1. 🙂 yeah U.P. ki gulabi sardi is something im always gonna miss..!!! one doesn’t have any opportunities to get into actual woolens..nd the fingers that ache due to chilling cold.. is all missing in this part of country..and along with tahri & pulao.. so many other dishes which are hard to explain to people in the lower half of country😐
    enjoyed reading ..something dedicated to UP wale log🙂

  2. this is very true. even though i have friends from all parts of the country, sometimes i miss speaking marathi in classes/office. and those who indeed speak marathi, that i know of, are very reserved types. nyways you guys have never let me feel bored.😉

  3. Even I’m missing the ‘Gulabi Sardi’ of Ajmer… (Yeah, that’s what we call it in Ajmer too🙂 and also the fog and the Aloo tikki and the potholes… basically I’m also missing home😦

  4. Super liked it mitr…memories were refreshed..nd infact dis is d first time m missing d gulabi sardi of lucknow nd u wrote dis..awesome post sir jee

  5. @ Neha di : Exactly🙂
    @ Deep : yeah true.. coming to lower half of the country, usually dictated by the needs of career or some other things, makes u miss the “North” more🙂
    @ Ranga : abe tu to poora indian hai be.. sala sari languages bolta hai! I wonder, do you feel less comfortable speaking Hindi/Telugu than marathi or is it just a matter of it being your mother tongue
    @ Priyank :🙂 we all miss it man
    @ Aniket : Yeah true many of the things are bound to be common in the so called Hindi belt and yeah man “fog” thats something you reminded me of.. I still remember getting holidays in school coz of this fog, which wouldnt disappear until 12-1 in the noon.. and yahan hyd mein.. there is hardly a trace of fog EVER!

  6. Yeah me too missing Jaipur ki sardi… although will be going back in 10 days🙂

    and seems you desperately wanted to use “bhokaal”, “kantaap” .. lol it happens😛

  7. Himank ke bachhe how dare u said Lucknow is the only city worth living in U.P!!! u really need a Kantaap😛
    the post is really interesting…njoyed reading it🙂 nd as i always say nothing better than the north…UP ki chaat, UP ki sardi, UP ke log…are all that one miss when away from this place….nd thats coz as u said…Home is where the heart lies🙂

  8. @nks : Hmm.. well, the kind of weather you have in north in the month of Nov when its not cold enough to be uncomfortable/chilling. Sort of the beginning of winter! One which you can spend with the “kambals” instead of the heavy rajai reserved for the peak winters!
    @ Mathur : Hmm.. gud for you waise bhi iske baad to 5 saal ke liye Italy ki sardi jhelni hogi tujhe!
    @ Archisha : I know.. reality bites🙂
    @ Saurabh : Thanks🙂
    @ Sushant : Fortunately, we are humans and we adapt!🙂

  9. those light razai or kambals are called ‘dulai’ .. and word kantaap reminds me of words like ‘bajar’ n other words which are inappropriate to mention here😀 (maybe that’s specific to kanpur only :P) .. and if you notice our hindi is getting worse day by day ..

    well just a wait of 20 days .. and I’ll be off to U:P

    and here tahri, pulao and biryani are clubbed into biryani only

Leave a Reply

